Dream World Symbolism: A White Horse and a Bratty Child as My Ego

horse
Most of my dreams are such a random mess that I don’t attempt to interpret many of them, but a few weeks ago, I had one of those dreams where the symbols and underlying message seemed too significant to ignore. I believe the dream relates to my spiritual awakening experience, so read on if you’re interested to hear more.

Around June 18th, I had an unusual dream involving a white horse and a young girl. I’m not sure who the girl was, but she was a very bratty child. From what I remember, it seemed that she was attempting to sabotage the relationship between her mother and the man whom her mother was seeing. I observed this child, appalled by her behavior. Fast forwarding a bit into the dream, we were walking through a large, grassy field and saw that a white horse had been chopped into pieces, and the body parts were scattered everywhere. (Sorry if you weren’t quite prepared for that mental imagery!) I immediately turned to the child, with a disapproving look on my face. I suspected that she was the one who had killed the horse and that it was all part of her plan to sabotage things for her mother. The little girl denied it, and a small part of me wasn’t completely confident that she was responsible, but I told the mother and her child that I didn’t know who else would do such a thing. That was the end of the dream.

Before sharing my interpretation, I found it interesting that during the three days immediately following that dream, it seemed like horses showed up everywhere. The day after the dream, I read an online article about ego death, and the author mentioned that her ankle had been fractured while riding a horse. In that same article, she later made a comparison between ego death and breaking horses. During that weekend while visiting my boyfriend at his place, I saw horses three more times on television. On VH1, the music video for “Secret Garden” by Bruce Springsteen came on, and there was a white horse in it. Then in an episode of Roseanne, David was drawing a picture of a horse and explained to Dan that it was more than just a picture of a horse. He said it represented power, movement, and freedom. Additionally, I saw a commercial with a white horse on a beach. If you watch enough television, you’ve probably seen that same commercial. I think I’ve seen it on YouTube once or twice. But anyway, it seems like maybe the universe was trying to show me just how significant my dream was through the variety of images and references to horses.

Now, let’s get into dream symbols. I first looked up the meaning of a white horse in a dream, and these were some of the interpretations that seem more applicable to my situation: “some type of awareness that is spiritual in nature,” “a meeting with expanded awareness of yourself,” “spiritual enlightenment,” “elevating your mood or spiritual aspirations,” and “developing awareness of your instincts and intuition.” Then, I looked into the interpretation of a dead horse and came across these interpretations: “serious loss of energy or motivation which could lead to illness or depression” and “an old and dying set of habits and motivations or way of life.” So basically, a white horse is symbolic of expanding spiritual awareness, and a dead horse represents loss of vitality or some kind of change or transition from old habits to new ones.

Here’s my interpretation of the dream: I view the bratty child as my ego. It throws a tantrum, like a child, and attempts to prevent me from connecting to my true self. Like the little girl who killed the white horse, my ego has a tendency to be destructive and tries to hinder my spiritual expansion and development. I also think the symbolic meaning of the dead horse is totally applicable to my current situation. As a result of experiencing a spiritual awakening and ego loss, my motivation has been seriously lacking for the past month. I’ve really not had much motivation for over a year now, but it seems to have gotten even worse lately. I’ve also been feeling increasingly more uncomfortable with the idea of not knowing who I am anymore or where I am supposed to go from here. So yes, there is definitely a transition here from the old into the new, but that transition is far from complete. Perhaps the scattered body parts of the horse could be a reflection of just how much my old identify has been broken apart, and now I will have to slowly put myself back together in some new arrangement.

Thank you for reading. If you have a slightly different interpretation or some insight to share about my dream, I would love to hear your ideas.

6 thoughts on “Dream World Symbolism: A White Horse and a Bratty Child as My Ego

  1. Hello,

    I’m an indie author who’s starting up a podcast that seeks to determine the link between dreams and food called, “To Eat, Perchance to Dream.” It’s a light-hearted, humorous attempt to see what foods influence dreams and how.

    I stumbled upon your website and I think you would be a perfect guest for one of our first episodes. I would only need about thirty minutes of your time via Skype, and the questions and conversations will be very loose and informal. Mostly about your awakening, dreams and their meanings, and what food’s connection is, if any.

    It would be amazing if you could grace us with your presence–of course, on your own schedule. If you’re interested, please send me an email at nategutman.author@gmail.com.

    Regards,

    Nate Gutman

    Like

Leave a Reply

